Life

On Top of the World

“Running is simply putting one foot in front of the other, once you start you’ll never want to stop!”

14211997_1258548987509088_2124784939351874768_n
I definitely felt it after this run, it was exhausting in a good way.

I finally did it and now I feel on top of the world. This week I ran my first six mile run, no stops just myself running around the sleepy village I live in while incorporating the two villages on either side of where I’m from. There’s a sense of pride when you finish a distance you never thought you’d complete but I did it and it’s definitely an achievement to be proud of, if anyone else manages to complete the same. Now, I’m aiming to run it in a shorter time but with the change in weather I don’t see it as an issue at all, in fact now I’ve done it once I know I can do it again.

“Determination-The quality of being determined; firmness of purpose.”

For anyone to achieve any goals they set, determination is key otherwise it may not happen. I set out determined to finish the run I had planned, and I completed it reaching a goal I set for myself. Determination to get of the sofa and do something about the way I felt and looked, and I’ve never felt better or looked slimmer. Today, this determination meant I dropped a dress size, something I’ve never been able to achieve.

Hard work and determination go hand in hand however, if you don’t have a belief that you can achieve something it will not happen so you must believe in yourself, it’s important. A few months ago I doubted I’d be able to drop the weight, tone up and get fit but I just believed I could and started by putting one foot in front of the other. I’ve never been one to run/walk I straight flat out started running but if that is what it takes then do it. Anything is possible if you just believe. Over the last couple of days I’ve been recovering having never run this distance but that hasn’t stopped me, I walk the three miles into my town, I walked the dog two miles a few hours after that six-miler and continue to take him everyday more or less. There’s always a way to begin, its just finding it and then putting one foot in front of another.

Tomorrow I have plans for a four mile run, just easing back a bit and this weekend I will focus on weights and the cross trainer-variation is key for me. I just wanted to share my six-miler success to show its possible to do such a feat through hard work, determination and of course, consistency. I’m proud of myself, my runner father even expressed his pride in my completing six-miles although I didn’t tell him I had gone for a run so, he had to get over the worry first-always tell someone, they may think you’ve fell!

I finally did it and I’m on top of the world.

“Run for no one else but yourself and believe.”

1 thought on “On Top of the World”

Leave a Reply

