Student Life

A Round Up

So, on my blog I started talking about a module I’d been taking at University: Media Tech. I wrote about it for two reasons if I am honest. Firstly, it wasn’t like any other module I’d ever taken and so, as a way to understand what I was learning I thought blogging about it would help. It is like the saying you hear throughout education.

“If you want to understand, then teach it to someone else and you’ll see how easy it is to learn…”  

And secondly, it seemed interesting enough to add on my blog because, it is diary-like, I wanted to show my interest and my struggle. But, as assignments wore on I had less time to blog which led to me dropping the ball…sorry. So, I’ve decided to write a conclusion to the module to finish my little blogging post off which, with my nature, leaving something half-finished is annoying!

So, the last thing I wrote about was FRED week and I could summarize each class but, that will take ages but, if you want to see the assignments I completed then please click here  and you’ll be taken to my blog posts but, I will reflect on the assignments as well!

The Assignments- the first assignment, I can admit was hard and stressful and with other personal issues-draining. But, I managed to complete the assignment which I was very happy with overall. Because if I’m honest I thought I’d fail this module after I sat through the first class. My brain was over-loaded. We had to create a working prototype, then a presentation to sell our working prototypes, and then two blog posts- one on reflection and the other on the product- again selling it to the world. Alongside, that we had other assignments for other modules which were equally as stressful as I had to work with new people, and write in ways I never had before. We created ShakeItUp with the idea that different cultures and countries could mix around the world, joining forces to play drinking games or create mocktails. There were times when I felt like giving up but, it made me believe in my ability to create something and see that I could do more than I thought I was capable of!

Now the second assignment was due after Christmas and we just received the marks for it. I was pleasantly surprised with what I achieved. But, I did really enjoy the assignment. I chose to write about Hybrid Cloud Computing for a couple of reasons- firstly as a self-admitted untechy person I wanted to learn about something I knew nothing of, but it had to be interesting and we all have cloud software. As I found a network of articles, I believed I could write this assignment. And I did. My parents read over most of my work- I hope they learnt something- to tell me if my work makes sense. My aim is if they can understand the idea, then it is something I will submit. It was the easier of the two assignments I attempted over Christmas and at times I struggled, and at one point I cried! (my computer stopped responding, closed everything down and I had to rewrite about 900 words as it went to the save where I had my introduction written and nothing else). Now, there is some irony-maybe I should have backed up to the cloud! Or on a memory stick. It taught me something new, it challenged me and that is why I enjoyed the assignment.

The Module- I’m going to be honest, it was not my favourite module-moral panics took that spot- and at times I felt like a breakdown was needed but, I stuck by the module and my guns-raising my issues- AND I’m happy I did. There were time I was lost, I had a week off due to illness and came back thinking I was in an alien world but, there were times where I was proud of myself because I had grasped a theory, or achieved something I didn’t think was possible. And I guess, that is what a module is supposed to do! It’s supposed to push you further, otherwise why am I paying this money. Would I have preferred this module in a less stressful year-not dissertation year? Yes, it wouldn’t have stressed me out as much. You see it is impossible to say this module was bad, it could have been better but, I can see the merit of learning about technology and how this applies to Media. Its an interesting perspective, and I’m glad I took it despite all the stress because it pushed me, it forced myself to learn in a new way-although I like my old way better- and although I dragged my feet, I enjoyed the second assignment immensely.

Here comes my funny little anecdote…

So, my dad was reading my Hybrid Cloud Computing work and I speak about the Panopticon- a symbolic representation of surveillance society…you’ll have to read my blog posts to understand it. Anyway, he read that part about a surveillance society and bluntly announced- and that’s why I don’t like Cloud technology, you don’t know who is looking and what they read. Let me make myself clear, despite this my dad is the person in my family who wants to understand how his tech works? Well, I find out and then write instructions but, then I also sit and explain to him how it works…

To read about hybrid cloud computing click here, here, and here!

Leave a Reply

