Life

Are You a Bookmark Person or a Page-Folder?

Being a bookworm is easy…most of the time. They provide me with an escape from the world but fiction books, not academic books. And so, with third year coming to a close I’ll be able to pick up my books and read but I’ve been having a little bit of trouble lately- I’ve been busy and it’s hard to pick up a fiction book when you’ve been reading academic ones all day! However, I’m not here to discuss that. I’m going to discuss my top three book sets to unwind, based on how I unwind and the fact once I pick a book  up I cannot put it down till I finish it…

So here goes:

In Third  Place:

Harry Potter…it is a beautiful set that reminds me of my childhood and I think the day my mum realised I was a bookworm, and possibly reading higher than the age of 6/7. You see my parents read to us- me and John as they thought it was important, it taught us something and enabled us to have an active imagination away from screens…Anyway, I got tired of waiting to hear how the third Harry Potter book ended and took matters into my own hand…reading books 1-3 in the space of a week. I wasn’t as fast as I am now. John liked being read too and I was impatient. I was also his younger sister so, when john used to be mean or annoyed me I’d threaten to tell him how the story ended. After that, my book collections began.

In Second Place:

Percy Jackson…not just the original set but, the one produced after featuring a greek/roman crossover too. And even my brother speeds through these books which means they must be good. You see, I commandeered the first book from John, after I read it and wanted to read the rest of the series. He was getting rid of it, so really it was a rescue mission and I buy them all. I’ve even started the series based on Apollo. Any who, it is a great series- its easy and I just love the story even though I know how it goes? I know odd right. That is the earmark of a good book, that and a cracked spine because that means it’s been opened a few dozen times.

And The Winner Is:

The Morganville Vampire Series…all 16 of them if you count the book of short stories which I do! Who wouldn’t want to unwind with these books. They are funny, entertaining, sad and happy! Basically a mix of emotions. I started this series after a very kind person from Waterstones turned me onto them, when I was deciding on a new set of books. It’s ONE of the best series I’ve ever read. Rest assured I’ll be back to the books soon. I would say allotting time for half an hour every night would be good but, I can never put a book down after half an hour, or half way through a chapter or if I need to see what happens in the next chapter.

Anyone else organise bookstore shelves so the series is in order? 👌👌

A post shared by Penguin Teen Australia (@penguinteenaus) on

I have a question for you all out there. Bookworms unite. Are you a bookmark person or a page-folder. I’m a self-confessed page-folder and yes I know its bad but, I cannot help it! Even my mum tells me off for folding the page, she is a bookworm and uses a bookmark.

2 thoughts on “Are You a Bookmark Person or a Page-Folder?”

Leave a Reply

