Entertainment

Once Upon a Time…

…in a far off land, there lived  a princess…

We all grew up listening to the same, old fairy tales. And of course, for those who are a little more obsessed they will know that these are not how the original fairy tales went…

Written by the brothers Grimm, lets just say these tales are not completely appropriate for a four-year-old unless blood, horror, mental unstability etc is something you want to subject them too. Yet, these are the fairy tales kids heard (once upon a time) and now, we are told of the beautiful lands, good versus evil without too much blood. So, why?

#grimm #grisgrimly #bookstagram #bookcollection #beautifulcover #fairytales

A post shared by Ola Ross (@jekyllyne_hyde) on

As a kid, I loved fairy tales and my favourite is Alice in Wonderland! Honestly I still love them to this day. With television shows such as Once Upon a Time or Grimm I’ve kept up my interest as well as owning a brothers Grimm fairy tale book… And had I known about the real folk tales as a child, I definitely believe until I reached around 11 they would have grossed me out so, maybe the should be introduced during some point of our childhood?

But, I’m not discounting the flouncy, moralistic and happy fairy tales we were brought up on…many of them adaptions on the original story I just don’t believe a ‘dumbing-down’ should take place. Not everyone is aware that the stories we grew up with in modern society, are not the originals. Perhaps, we should provide a child with the knowledge of a more gruesome version of beloved classic fairy tales and give them the opportunity to read them once they are able to independently read, making the choice themselves?

I’m an avid reader, and I have been since I was little. My mum often speaks of times when she sent me upstairs as a child and she’d wonder why I wasn’t making more noise-I was reading so I didn’t mind being upstairs- and after that she used to make me sit on the sofa away from my books. Or the time when I was reading Harry Potter and my brother got that upset with me for some reason he hid my book…I slept with it for the next couple days so he couldn’t get his hands on it? My point: I independently read from the age of four/five and would not necessarily have been old enough to understand the brothers Grimm fairy tales but, as I grew older had I been given the choice at 8/9 I probably would have read them instead of 11.

I was lucky growing up because I had two parents who saw how much I loved reading and encouraged me to do so. So, I did know about the darker tales yet, many of my friends had no clue?

book-wind open

I have loved books all my life and will continue to do so! I wanted to blog about this because I love fairy tales and having recently stumbled upon an article about fairy tales thought I would blog. If you have an interest now in the brothers Grimm fairy tales then read them…or while it may not be factually correct watch GRIMM or Once Upon a Time and enjoy them. It’ll be a piece of your childhood!

Leave a Reply

